Yoga Alloy

Sushumna Nadi: Beyond The Energy Channels

Nadis are energy channels, the pathways that our life force energy travels. Yoga calls our life force energy as Prana. Just like the blood circulation, Prana travels in our body along certain pathways.

There are some major Nadis. The most well known Nadis are Ida and Pingala and Sushumna Nadis. You may come across common yogic practices that focuses on activating or balancing these Nadis. 

Along with these well-known ones, there are two more, very major Nadis within our Astral Body. These are called 

  • Vajra Nadi and,
  • Chitra Nadis. 

Lets first talk a bit about the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadis.

Both Ida and Pingala Nadis initiate at the base of the spine. They spiral through each other along the spine all the way up to the 3rd eye. Ida Nadi ends at the tip of the left nostril. Pingala Nadi ends at the tip of the right nostril.

Within Ida Nadi, flows the lunar energies. It has calming and cooling properties. If you need to be in a calmer state you may try inhaling through your left nostril and exhaling through your right for 8 – 12 rounds.

Energy permeates the Pingala Nadi has the solar powers. Mainly actives and warms your mind and body. You may have guessed what to do if you are in need of warmth and activation. To increase the activity of the Pingala Nadi inhale from your right nostril and exhale from the left for 8 – 12 breath or until you feel a shift.

The Sushumna Nadi runs along the spine. It goes through all the major Chakras. The kind of energy that flows through Sushumna Nadi is saturated with a raw, creative force. It is called Kundalini.

Kundalini is a very potent force, so it is not normally active. There are so many practices to activate the Kundalini energy. None of these practices are as simple as activating the Ida and Pingala Nadis. Kundalini activation requires consistent and dedicates practices for a long time. Which makes sense because only after kind of practice the yogin can handle the power of the Kundalini energy. Yet you might have had the taste of it after a very intense experience. For example, a very potent orgasm where the boundaries between opposites, between the body and the soul, gets blurry.

Let’s get back to the Vajra and Chitra Nadis

Yoga tells us that we have two more bodies along with our flesh and blood body. Our three bodies are:

  • Physical body
  • Astral body
  • Causal body

We find the Sushumna Nadi in the Astral Body which is made of Prana. If you have done energy work before, then you must be familiar with a subtle vibration. Those subtle pranic vibrations belong to this body.

We have mentioned that Sushumna Nadi is not very easy to reach. Now we are about to see that there are even deeper Nadis. More subtle, less tangible.

Vajra Nadi is located within Sushumna Nadi. It initiates at the level of the Sacral Chakra and rises up from that point. Vajra Nadi is responsible for the movement of the Astral Body (pranic movement).

Chitra Nadi is even deeper. Chitra Nadi is located within the Vajra Nadi. It is the center of our spiritual activities.

All these three Nadis are luminous. An advances yogi may sense their light as well as vibration.

Actually there is more. You may have noticed that we did not talk about the Causal body at all. We will leave that part for another article.

Until then remember to celebrate the hidden powers within you.


Yoga Alloy